ESIST understands the concept of Screen Translation to cover the various forms of language transfer in the media, including subtitling, dubbing, voice-over, interpreting for the media, surtitling, subtitling for the deaf and the hard-of-hearing, and audio description for the blind and the partially sighted.

The main aims of the association are to:

  • Facilitate contact for an exchange of information and experience in the teaching of screen translation in higher education institutes in Europe.
  • Promote screen translation as a skilled practice requiring specialist training and encourage the creation of innovative courses in screen translation in European higher education institutions.
  • Facilitate cooperative projects including the exchange of staff and students.
  • Study the potential for curriculum development in the field of screen translation on a European basis.
  • Initiate other forms of collaboration and research in screen translation.
  • Develop the dialogue between higher education teachers who offer courses in and on screen translation and persons concerned with the profession of screen translation in the television and film industries.
  • Promote professional standards in the teaching and practice of screen translation.
  • Promote accessibility to audiovisual media.

ESIST Constitution Amended 2011., PDF

ESIST membership

Application for membership is invited from anyone with an interest in screen translation, be it an academic or professional. Membership is also open to persons residing outside Europe.

To renew your membership, send the payment for the membership fee to via PayPal, as detailed in the membership section, indicating your full name and the renewal period. You can also pay by bank transfer - just email our Treasurer Sharon Black at the same email address to request our bank account details.

You only need to resubmit the Membership application form if any of your details have changed. If your affiliation and/or email address have changed, in addition to filling in the application form, kindly also inform the President Elena Di Giovanni and Secretary David Orrego-Carmona via email at and

Become a member